Heavenly Chocolate Cake

I’ve never made angel food cake before, so when Luke’s Aunt Sheryll suggested I try it, I ran out to buy my first tube pan (and some eggs).

I have to admit though, that I am not a big angel food fan myself.  It’s just a little bit wimpy for a dessert, not quite as rich as I’d like it to be.  So, with help from Joy of Cooking, I doctored it up a bit, to create Extra-Chocolate Angel Cake with Bittersweet Chocolate Glaze.

You’ll probably notice that this recipe is set up a little bit differently from most.  Joy of Cooking lists its recipe’s ingredients within the recipe, in bold.

Extra-Chocolate Angel Cake

a recipe from Joy of Cooking

Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Have ready an ungreased 10-inch tube pan.  Sift together 3 times:

1/2 cup sifted cake flour (or substitute)

1/2 cup (unsifted) unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

Combine in a large bowl, and beat on low speed for 1 minute:

1 1/2 cups egg whites (about 11 large whites)

1 tablespoon water

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Double yolk egg!

Increase the speed to medium-high and beat until the mixture increases 4 1/2 to 5 times in volume and resembles a bowl of soft foam.  (This takes anywhere from 3 to 5 minutes.)  The foam will hold a very soft, moist shape when the beaters are lifted.

On medium high speed, beat in 1 tablespoon at a time, taking 2 to 3 minutes:

3/4 cup sugar

When all the sugar has been added, the foam will be creamy white and hold soft, moist, glossy peaks that bend over at the points; do not beat until stiff.  If the mixer bowl is nearly full, transfer the mixture to a wide 4- to 6- quart bowl for easier folding.  Sift a fine layer of the flour mixture (about 1/4 cup) evenly over the batter and fold gently with a rubber spatula only until the flour is almost incorporated; do not stir or mix.  Repeat 7 more times, folding in the last addition until no traces of flour are visible.  With the last addition of cocoa and flour, fold into the batter

2 ounces semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

Pour the batter into the pan and tilt or spread to level the top.  Bake until a cake tester (editor’s note:  WHO HAS A CAKE TESTER? Use a knife or skewer…) inserted in the center comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes.

Joy of Cooking suggests that you let the cake cool upside-down, by resting the tube on a bottle or inverted funnel.  I just put mine upside-down on a cooling rack.

Let the cake cook for 1 1/2 hours, then slide a knife around all sides of the pan to help remove the cake.

For the glaze:

Bittersweet Chocolate Glaze or Frosting

makes about 1 cup

a recipe from Joy of Cooking

For an even more bittersweet effect, substitute 1 ounce unsweetened chocolate for 1 ounce of the bittersweet or semisweet chocolate.

Heat in the top of a double boiler or in a microwave on medium, stirring often, just until the chocolate is melted and smooth:

6 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

1/3 cup water, coffee, or milk (I used milk)

Remove from the heat.  With a rubber spatula, stir in 2 or 3 pieces at a time:

6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Continue to stir–do not beat–until perfectly smooth.

For a pourable glaze, let stand at room temperature, stirring occasionally, until the mixture cools to 90°F for use as a glaze.  For frosting, let stand until spreadable.

The only problem with my additions is that it altered the cake enough that I can’t be sure that I got the angel food texture quite right.  I think it was pretty close, but I’ll definitely have to try a more basic version once strawberries are in season and I can make a proper dessert of it.

Now, what to do with the egg yolks…

About Alli

I love to bake, and am always amazed at the things that following a recipe can create. I am an amateur baker, writer and photographer who is excited to share my passion for all things baked. At least at this point, all of my recipes are taking from cookbooks, websites, or other blogs. Maybe I'll someday venture into my own creations, but until then I'll be sure to give you the sources of my recipes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heavenly Chocolate Cake

  1. Sheryll says:

    Wow, you did it!! Can you even believe how much work it is to make this from scratch? But it looks like it turned out great. I hope you both enjoyed it, even if it’s a little frou-frou as desserts go. If not, bring the left-overs to Minnesota with you, and I’ll gladly polish it off for ya’!

  2. Sarah says:

    yum. looks like it’s from a magazine!

Leave a Reply

